Symphonic Orchestra

Search Tips



Catalog No:




Orch Type:

Pop Type:

Solo Inst:

What's New:

Clear Search Fields

ALF0481 The Genesis Suite: Movement 2. Creation, Parts I & II (Alfred Rental Library)

Shilkret, Nathaniel
Instrumentation: 3D1.3D1.2+1.2+1/,timp,3 perc,hp,pf,cel,str,narr,SATB chs Perc=tam-tam,vibes,glock,sus cym,snare dr,bass dr,chimes.
Duration: 11:00
Description: Genesis 1:1-12, 14-21; 2:1-3. Genesis Suite = 7 movements; all available individually. Mvt 1 Prelude (Schoenberg) - Rental only through Belmont; Mvt 3 Adam and Eve (Tansman) = ALF0482; Mvt 4 Cain and Abel (Milhaud) = ALF0483; Mvt 5 The Flood-Noah's Ark (Castelnuovo-Tedesco) = ALF0484; Mvt 6 The Covenant-The Rainbow (Toch) = ALF0485; Mvt 7 Babel (Stravinsky) = Rental only through European American Music. Shilkret does not resume where Schoenberg left off. Rather, he backtracks and creates his own pre-Creation atonal chaos. Instead of a tone row, he relies on clusters that slide in parallel motion to avoid any sense of tonal center. He then divides the Creation story into two distinct sections. The first portion includes the events of the first three days, ending when God pauses to observe that "it was good." The second section begins with the words "Let there be light," and the Creation continues with the music weaving a fabric under the narrator.

Item QtyPrice
Rental Set (Contact for pricing and information.)


All prices subject to publisher revision without notice. $10 minimum on all orders. Prices do not reflect shipping costs. Shipping costs based on package weight and distance.

Luck’s Music Library
32300 Edward, P.O. Box 71397, Madison Heights, MI 48071
© 2022 Luck's Music Library
Version 1.1.7