Symphonic Orchestra

Search Tips



Catalog No:




Orch Type:

Pop Type:

Solo Inst:

What's New:

Clear Search Fields

ALF0483 The Genesis Suite: Movement 4. Cain and Abel (Alfred Rental Library)

Milhaud, Darius 1892 - 1974
Style: 20th Century
Instrumentation:,timp,2 perc,hp,str,narr Perc=snare dr,pair cym.
Duration: 5:00
Description: Genesis 4:1-16. Genesis Suite = 7 movements; all available individually. Mvt 1 Prelude (Schoenberg) - Rental only through Belmont; Mvt 2 Creation Parts I & II (Shilkret) = ALF0481; Mvt 3 Adam and Eve (Tansman) = ALF0482; Mvt 5 The Flood-Noah's Ark (Castelnuovo-Tedesco) = ALF0484; Mvt 6 The Covenant-The Rainbow (Toch) = ALF0485; Mvt 7 Babel (Stravinsky) = Rental only through European American Music. The concert program notes described this movement simply as "the story of discord and violence deftly underlined in music." Here Milhaud presents the story of exile from family and community. Again we have an episodic construction of six sections interwoven with instrumental commentary. Also, in a fashion similar to Tansman, Milhaud notates the speaker's rhythm for the most significant section—in this case for the words "and slew him" and "fugitive and a vagabond."

Item QtyPrice
Rental Set (Contact for pricing and information.)


All prices subject to publisher revision without notice. $10 minimum on all orders. Prices do not reflect shipping costs. Shipping costs based on package weight and distance.

Luck’s Music Library
32300 Edward, P.O. Box 71397, Madison Heights, MI 48071
© 2022 Luck's Music Library
Version 1.1.7