Click here to email

Clark Suttle’s career as a musician has followed a unique and logical path from double bassist to soloist, conductor, arranger, composer and editor. Mr. Suttle is currently the Music Editor for Luck’s Music Library and Tempo Press. He is also a member of the Michigan Opera Theater Orchestra.       

Mr. Suttle guest conducts with many U. S. and European orchestras including: The Detroit Symphony Orchestra, The National Symphony, St. Louis Symphony, Denver Symphony, Richmond Symphony, Grand Rapids Symphony, El Paso Symphony, Fresno Philharmonic, Savannah Symphony, Seeland Symphony, Denmark, the Wurttemberg Philharmonie, Germany, Orquesta Sinfonica de Castilla y Leon, Spain, and the Crested Butte Music Festival, CO.

While attending the University of Michigan, Mr. Suttle studied with Professor Lawrence P. Hurst. He went on to earn a Master of Music in Conducting from the University of Michigan in 1976. He won the Bronze Medal at the 1972 International Performance Competition in Geneva, Switzerland and the University of Michigan’s Stanley Medal, awarded to the outstanding graduating senior, in 1975.

After graduating, Suttle conducted the University of Michigan Philharmonia Orchestra and taught double bass. He was appointed Assistant Conductor to the Richmond Symphony, VA in 1978. Mr. Suttle joined the Buffalo Philharmonic in 1979 as Exxon Arts Endowment Conductor under Maestro Julius Rudel. He also studied with Max Rudolf during his tenure in Buffalo and was appointed Associate Conductor in 1982. The Buffalo Philharmonic premiered Voyager, his first full work for orchestra, with the composer conducting. Suttle was then appointed associate conductor of the Phoenix Symphony from 1983 to 1985 under Theo Alcantara.

Mr. Suttle became Music Director of the Monterey Symphony in 1985. The orchestra premiered two of his works and many arrangements during his thirteen-year tenure. Among them are the Christmas Cantata “Prince of Peace”, and the Concerto for Strings. More recent works include: “T’fila” for Double Bass and Piano, “Esh Olam” - Concerto for Double Bass and Orchestra, a quintet “In Madness, Dreams”, a septet “On Water’s Still Flowing” and a memorial work “The Last Kiss” for orchestra and violin solo.

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe:

Luck’s Music Library
32300 Edward, P.O. Box 71397, Madison Heights, MI 48071
© 2024 Luck's Music Library
Version 1.1.7